TEAM HAWAR.help: MEET MECBURE

Over the next year, we’ll be introducing one member of the #HAWAR team each month. Currently, there are 12 of us – and, until now, we are made up solely of GIRLS! This December meet Mecbure.

What do you do @ HAWAR.help?

I am doing weekly workshops with Yazidi-Kurdish refugees in Brandenburg. The refugees have only been in Germany for a short time and live in shared accommodation. They are survivors of the genocide in Iraq that was committed by the „Islamic State“. I often hear about how siblings, fathers, or other members of their families are still missing. Talking about this makes them very sad. My job here is to bring them back to the present moment, though I do not try to work through their traumas with them since I am not a therapist. The aim of the workshops is to support the refugees in their integration process in Germany. The focus of the workshops is on culture, education, empowerment of women, and recreation. I speak to the participants of the workshops in Kurmancî-Kurdish, which is especially important in the beginning since not all of them speak German well enough yet. So far, we have done the following activities depending on the weather: In the summer we went for a picnic in a park and hikes in nature. We practice German, we paint with the children, visit cafes, and takes boat tours. The refugees are encouraged to actively express their own wishes and needs to help us plan the workshops.

What does HAWAR.help mean to you?

HAWAR.help is an incredibly important organization that gives a voice to those people who would otherwise be forgotten rather quickly. For example, who is going to rebuild the Shingal-Region region that ISIS has destroyed through terror and violence? Hundreds of thousands of people, including the Yazidi population of this region, have been living in tents for years. The HAWAR.help projects offer a glimpse of hope during a time when religious minorities in the Middle East are facing a lot of horror, executions, terror, disrespect of women, and abuse the of children. For me, HAWAR.help stands for freedom and self-determination no matter where we live.

What did you do before joining HAWAR.help?

I am a sociologist and mediator for violence prevention. I spent my childhood and youth in Rastede near Oldenburg but I was born in Nusaybin. After my studies in Frankfurt am Main, I moved to Berlin in 2008 and started working for various NGOs. I am especially experienced working in the field of youth: political education, career counselling and leisure activities. Aside from that, I’ve been involved in integration projects and in 2014, I added the topic „prevention of extremism“.  Anti-semitism has also become a hot topic within my work. Political extremists like the Jihadists of ISIS typically not only have a problem with Yazidi community, they’d also like to wipe out the Jewish community given the chance. This is the kind of extremism that is dangerous for all of us and that we have to fight against.

What is your favorite HAWAR.help moment?

So far, the most beautiful moment was after the boat tour with the participants. Many of them thanked me deeply and it became clear that this trip was really good for them. It was so nice to see that the children, women, and men can laugh again despite the trauma they experienced.

If you could describe HAWAR.help in three words, what would they be?

Freedom, self-determination, women’s power.

TEAM HAWAR.help: MEET MECBURE

In den kommenden Monaten werden wir das derzeit 12-köpfige Team von HAWAR.help vorstellen. Diesen Dezember geht es um Mecbure.

Was machst Du bei HAWAR.help?

Ich führe in Brandenburg wöchentlich Workshops mit jesidisch-kurdischen Flüchtlingen durch. Die Flüchtlinge halten sich erst seit kurzem in Deutschland auf und leben in einer Gemeinschaftsunterkunft. Sie sind Überlebende des Genozids im Irak, der vom „Islamischen Staat“ begangen wurde. Ich höre oft, dass Geschwister, der Vater oder andere Familienangehörige noch vermisst werden und dann fließen auch mal die Tränen. Da ich keine Therapeutin bin, gehe ich auf die Traumata nicht ein und hole sie ins Hier und Jetzt zurück. Ziel des Workshops ist es, die Flüchtlinge beim Integrationsprozess in Deutschland zu unterstützen. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf Kultur, Bildung, Empowerment von Frauen und Erholung. Ich spreche mit den Teilnehmer/innen des Workshops in Kurmancî-Kurdisch, das ist vor allem am Anfang wichtig, da fast alle noch nicht über ausreichend Deutschkenntnisse verfügen. Bisher haben wir je nach Wetterlage folgende Aktivitäten unternommen: Im Sommer Picknick im Park, Wanderungen in der Natur, Grundlagen der deutschen Alltagssprache als Training, Malen für Kinder, Besuch eines Cafés und eine Bootstour. Die Flüchtlinge bringen sich mit ihren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen aktiv in die Gestaltung der folgenden Workshops ein.

Was bedeutet HAWAR.help für Dich?

HAWAR ist eine unglaublich wichtige Organisation, die denjenigen Menschen eine Stimme verleiht, die gesellschaftlich sonst schnell wieder in Vergessenheit geraten würden. Wer baut z.B. die Shingal-Region wieder auf, die der IS durch Terror und Gewalt zerstört hat? Hunderttausende Menschen, darunter vor allem die jesidische Bevölkerung dieser Region, leben seit Jahren in Zelten. Die HAWAR-Projekte sind ein Hoffnungsschimmer in einer Zeit, die gerade für religiöse Minderheiten im Nahen Osten nichts anderes übrig hat als Schrecken, Exekutionen, Terror, Frauenverachtung und Missbrauch von Kindern. HAWAR steht für mich für Freiheit und Selbstbestimmung unabhängig davon in welcher Region wir leben.

Was hast Du gemacht, bevor Du zu HAWAR.help gekommen bist?

Ich bin Diplom-Soziologin und Mediatorin für Gewaltprävention. Meine Kindheit und Jugend habe ich in Rastede bei Oldenburg verbracht. Geboren bin ich in Nusaybin. Nach meinem Studium in Frankfurt am Main zog ich 2008 nach Berlin und arbeite im Anschluss für diverse NGOs, insbesondere im Bereich Jugend war ich bisher umfassend praktisch tätig: politische Bildung, Berufsberatung und Freizeitgestaltung. Daneben gab es auch Integrationsprojekte und 2014 ist für mich das Thema „Prävention von Extremismus“ dazugekommen. Auch Antisemitismus kommt in meinen beruflichen Sphären immer wieder vor. Die politischen Extremisten wie die Jihadisten vom IS haben in der Regel nicht nur ein Problem mit der jesidischen Religionsgemeinschaft, sondern würden auch die jüdische Religionsgemeinschaft ebenfalls auslöschen, wenn sie die Gelegenheit hätten. Diesen Extremismus, der für uns alle gefährlich ist, müssen wir bekämpfen.

Was war bisher Dein schönster HAWAR.help-Moment?

Der bisher schönste Moment war für mich nach der Bootstour mit den Teilnehmer/innen: Viele haben sich herzlich bei mir bedankt und es kam zum Ausdruck, dass der Ausflug ihnen richtig gut getan hat. Zu sehen, dass die Kinder, Frauen und Männer trotz Trauma auch wieder lachen können, ist ebenfalls sehr schön.

Wenn Du HAWAR.help in drei Wörtern beschreiben müsstest, welche wären das?

Freiheit, Selbstbestimmung, Frauenpower.